The sale of gasoline-powered passenger vehicles will be prohibited by 2035. Learn more here.
PORTLAND, Ore. (AP) — Policymakers for the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality on Monday approved a rule that prohibits the sale of new gasoline-powered passenger vehicles in Oregon by 2035.
The effort comes as Oregon plans to cut climate-warming emissions by 50% by 2035 and by 90% by 2050, The Oregonian/OregonLive reported. The transportation sector accounts for nearly 40% of greenhouse gas emissions in Oregon.
The rule is based on vehicle emission standards California adopted in August. The standards require car manufacturers to sell a certain percentage of zero-emission vehicles — electric cars, plug-in hybrid electric vehicles and hydrogen fuel cell vehicles — as part…
Ballot Measure 114 concerning gun laws will not go into effect today. Learn more here.
By Jonathan Levinson (OPB)
Ballot Measure 114 will not become law at 12:01 a.m., Thursday, Dec. 8.
The Oregon Supreme Court on Wednesday denied a state Department of Justice petition asking the court to throw out a lower court’s temporary restraining order blocking the law from taking effect.
Harney County Circuit Court Judge Robert Raschio issued the order Tuesday, saying the law violated the Oregon state constitution’s right to bear arms. Raschio said Oregonians would be “unable to lawfully purchase a firearm or bear a magazine capable…
The state has a new paid family and medical leave program. Learn more here. By Chris Lehman | The Oregonian/OregonLive
The Oregon Employment Department has officially set the rates that employers and employees will have to pay for the state’s new paid family and medical leave program.
Starting in January, workers will pay 0.6% every paycheck and employers will pay 0.4%, the state decided.
“For example, if an employee made $1,000 in wages, the employee would pay $6 and the employer would pay $4 for this paycheck,” the Employment Department said in a press release.